Shame is the Albatross I Wear

Shame is such a heavy, toxic emotion. I have been wearing it for the past two years like it’s the new fashion trend.  There is shame for not figuring out his antics because I worked with people who suffered from addictions and personality disorders.  There is shame for brining my daughter into this whacked out situation.  Thankfully, she has no idea and is doing really well.  Then there is the shit my mother did.  Ugh. It is not her suicide, it is her actions and the consequences.

I fear so much judgment.

This is probably the hardest thing I will write about from an emotional standpoint.  I know I have to face this and get it out from inside of me.  It is not helpful to hide it.

My mother had numerous problems.  She had a personality disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder to be exact.  From this disorder she suffered from a eating disorder, addiction to alcohol and spending. She was suicidal much of my life.  She could be really loving one moment, and hate your guts the next.  It left scars on my brother and me.

What I did not know is when she committed suicide was she was supposed to sign a plea agreement for taking money from her job.  I knew she and my father were in serious trouble.  I was going through finding out about the infidelity in my relationship and dealing with my parents and their issues.

To her dying day, she denied doing anything wrong.  After her death, and the information came out fully, she did it.  I still can’t believe it.  It is like a bad dream that continues even after her death.

My father signed his plea agreement and was sentenced to prison, which is where he currently is now.  What a hard day that was for my brother and me.  We have lost so much in short period of time.  Because of my dad’s advanced age and all his health problems, I wonder if he will live through his sentence.

I have shame because I didn’t know what she was doing, and I think at times people think someone should have known.  Those people did not know my mother.  My mother only told you enough to placate you. (Sound familiar to the sex addict I live with currently?) There was always a plausible explanation for everything.

Highsight is 20/20.

This is my life.  The reality is that my mother was really sick.  I did not see the whole picture, and at times blame myself.  I was/am a therapist.  My therapist reminds me that she was my mother, and was good at what she did.  That I was too close.

So to sum up the shit storm of my life with full disclosure:

My mother lied, stole, and then comitted suicide.

My father is in prison for a long time.

My partner is a sex addict that lied, cheated, and emotionally abused me.

My best friend died.

My good friend died.

My cat died.

And this doesn’t even include that bullshit from the cheater’s ex-wife.

This all happened in the last three years, most in the last 18 months.

There you have it my fellow travelers.  This is why I find it so hard to heal.  This is why I have PTSD.  This is why I don’t work as a therapist anymore.  This is why..

I still get out of bed in the morning.  Take care of the children.  Move forward as much as I can.  I pray almost hourly for help because I am tired. This is why I broke the plate when my cat got hit my two cars.

I don’t like visiting all of this at one time. With the gnat of resentment around me now, I know I have too.  I have to be honest about it all.

This is why I am the Disenchanted Princess.

I thought I was having my happily ever after, fully enchanted by all the sweet lies I was being fed.  I was living in the illusions these two people created.

I am now disenchanted and disillusioned.

My therapist tells me I am awake.

I am still here.  Bare-boned and tired.

Isn’t this where we find God?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Yes it is. I came over to check out your page cause I liked your name and WOW that is an absolute shit 18 months. BUT, your therapist is right that you are awake now. And that can either be a place of pain and shame or a place of recognition and healing. The choice is yours. I’ve been in that place where I’ve lost everything and had my whole life fucked up in a very short period of time. I know how dark it can be but I PROMISE it gets better. You’ll probably want to punch everyone who says that; but at least find solace in the fact that I actually know what the fuck I’m talking about lol. Please keep writing, you’re very good at it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for visiting. I liked your name too! Shame and pain or healing and recognition… I like that… I like that a lot. And yes, most times I want to punch people in the face when they say it! Thank you for connecting and giving me support!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem! And I totally get that. Mostly because I always wanted to punch people when they said it to me lol. Good luck!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Leighkay54 says:

    This is sometimes where you find God, but it is more likely the point where you find yourself. You find out just how incredibly resilient you are. Who knew?!?! And how amazingly steel-like your spine actually is. Even when inside, you feel like tissue-thin paper being torn and shredded at the slightest pull, you realize with every waking day. . . Huh, how ’bout that? I’m still here! Living, breathing, growing, learning and getting stronger through each brutal hit. At some point, God may manifest His Hand and you will feel that comfort of being wrapped in the arms of His love. If not, you can be proud of the shitstorm you have survived with more strength and bravery than most people will ever have to experience. Bless you friend and keep moving forward!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are absolutely right!!!thank you for reminding me! Thank you for reminding me of my light. I forget it’s there sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

